More Slummy than Yummy?

© Jinyoung Lee | Dreamstime Stock Photos

© Jinyoung Lee | Dreamstime Stock Photos

OK, so I have never professed to be a YUMMY MUMMY, but this blogging lark is fast turning me into SLUMMY MUMMY of the year!

I am still pondering whether investing in my laptop was the best decision I ever made, or in fact the worst??

The truth is I have become well and truly addicted to this blogging lark, hook, line and sinker. Plus all the social-networking that comes with it, Twitter, Facebook. My day is taken up reading other blogs for personal interest or in the name of Research. Mail Me, Poke me. Like me, Tweet me, Pin me, Bookmark me. I am absolutely amazed to have over 600 followers on Twitter already, in such a short time. Thank you! Retweet me, spread the word. Twomumsy to conquer the world!  ****(please note twomumsy is no longer available on either twitter or Facebook : sorry to disappoint folks!)

I find myself living in a virtual BLOG WORLD, as in . . . thinking about it all the time, – what would make a good post? Pretty much my whole life is being written in my head as a future post, much as I used to be thinking up my next Facebook status. Haha, Twitter – it’s the future don’t you know! Facebook is so last year!

But step inside the four walls that is called HOME, and you will begin to see what has suffered, at the expense of it!

The kids are not exactly going unfed, but less cooking has been going on and less preparation of good meals. I am not exactly saying that THE BOY is turning into a fish finger, and THE GIRL into a Smiley face, not yet anyway.

Less housework is getting done in general, and believe me, I err on the slovenly-side to start off with. I am definitely on the slippery slope to SLUMMY-MUMMYVILLE!

The kids are going to school in unironed uniforms, going to bed later, watching more TV – fending for themselves a lot, they are not exactly feral, yet, but you get the picture.

So, come on BLOGGING YUMMY MUMMIES of the world – Can you please tell me just exactly how do you do it? You claim to cook fresh meals from scratch, whilst breastfeeding your baby in a sling, wearing your unblemished Boden outfit, in your clutter free minimalist homes. Whist managing the most interesting, exciting, up-to-date organised BLOG at least once daily, about how utterly fabulous your life is, how well-dressed you and your babies are, and how well-groomed you keep yourself. Oh and not to mention that you have had the most exciting amazing time getting all-artsy and crafts with the kids earlier. Clearing up the mess afterwards, whilst whisking up a simple yet nourishing lunch, and having a bun in the oven – both literally and metaphorically!! ***

PLEASE, Please tell me your secret? Or, please tell me, it is not your REAL LIFE? Please, please, pretty please @ifeelsoinadequate.twomumsy

One thing I have learned from parenting blog addiction is that fabricated or not, there is so much going on that I have not been doing with my own kids. So in the past few weeks, I have tried to ignore the calling of the housework (even more than usual) and actually been swimming with THE BOY, been to the park more with them both. And that is just the start! We have done more crafting at home. I might even let them get the Playdoh out later! Now, hang on a minute, let’s not get too excited, eh?!

I haven’t quite worked up to the BIG ONE yet, that I keep promising them . . . FULL ON MESSY PLAY, with finger, hand and footprint painting, the works! I am working up to it though. I mean come on, there is mess, and there is MESS!

So thank you Blogging Parents of the world. . . for inspiring me, in more way than one. And putting me in mind of the important fact, of which THE GIRL constantly reminds me:

CHILDREN DON’T KEEP!

dreamstimefree_250738-1

Anyway, thanks again for listening. Thanks for the support! My name is TWOMUMSY and I am addicted to BLOGGING. There I have said it!

***NO OFFENCE INTENDED. Please do not take offence at the above paragraph. It says more about ME than YOU!

PHOTOGRAPHS
© Jinyoung Lee | Dreamstime Stock Photos

2 thoughts on “More Slummy than Yummy?

  1. Oh I totally neglect all of the details of housekeeping and motherhood since I started this blog… I won’t lie. I feed the children, get the children to school…um, yeah…that’s about it. 🙂

  2. Ha! Great blog post, I try my hardest to only blog when my daughter is fast asleep. I find it easier to write it bit by bit and keep auto saving if writing during the day. I’m still very new to it all though so it could change lol. X

Leave a Reply

