Pros and cons to blogging . . .

In the last 24 hours, I have rediscovered both the pros, and cons to blogging . . .

The reasons I started the blog in the first place:

– It serves as a ‘dear diary’, it is cathartic
– I LOVE WORDS. . . If I have no-one to talk to, I talk to the dog, or I talk to myself đŸ™‚
– I have a vivid, creative imagination
– As an older, ex-creative, I wanted to use it as a platform to teach myself the basics of web design
– I thought I could earn some sort of income from it, from sponsorship, advertising etc. . .

Which leads me smoothly on to the first of the cons:
– Once my creative mind is flowing, it is hard to stop it
– If I wake up in the night for any reason, my mind starts thinking ‘creatively’, and I find it hard to get back to sleep; which means I cannot function in my day-to-day life as mum, and at work
– To make a success out of any blog, I would need to give all my free time to it. I have enjoyed making much better use of my free time over the last year, just enjoying life with my kids, rather than writing about them and uploading our lives on a daily basis. This is not a criticism of other parent-bloggers out there. I take my hat off to you! I just know it is not really for me. AS this point proves, here I am at 3am writing a blog post, instead of catching up on much needed sleep

Revealing my blog to my 2 kids this weekend has had a very positive effect. Both of my children have inherited my love of books, literature, words, and both have amazingly creative imaginations. I showed them my blog. I am somewhat a tiny bit proud of it! It inspired my son, who is only in his second year in school, and treats homework as ‘such a bore’, who needs to improve his handwriting in leaps and bounds, and whom I have to push, push, push, just to pick up a pencil . . . came to me with a little book he has made and written (although not all distinctly legible) all by himself!

My children re-invent themselves every day, they are always using their ‘name changing machine’ to become different characters. . . and I suppose that is why I created TwoMumsy. She is a character really, a much exaggerated version of myself. I played on a lot of characteristics, and exaggerated for effect, as I knew it would make for much more interesting reading.

See, I can’t sleep now, because I just want to write, write, write. I suffer from migraines, so I am going to pay for this tomorrow. Imagine if I started a novel (which I would love to one day), I would not sleep for 3 months!!

Leave a Reply

